Bridging Academia, Policy and Practice

Monday 28 June – Thursday 1 July 2021

Book of Abstracts
Guidance for Participants
Boye - keynote Speaker
Bridge at the Top front cover
Marianne Harding

Free international conference for academics, bridge players, teachers, administrators and policymakers

More than 60 presenters and panelists from 20 countries

Case studies: Australia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, India, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Madeira, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, South Pacific, UK, USA

Programme (pdf)

Day 1

28 June:  Benefits of bridge as a sport

Welcome by: World Bridge Federation President

[Session 1A] Bridge as a Mindsport
13:00 (BST UK) / 08:00 (EDT)

[Session 1B] Wellbeing & Bridge
16:30 (BST UK) / 11:30 (EDT)
Keynote: Prof Martin Seligman (USA)
Bridge at the Top (Jill Levin & Chip Martel)

More Information

Day 3

30 June: How can bridge be more inclusive?

[Session 3A] Ageing, Intergenerationality & Bridge
10:00 (BST UK) / 05:00 (EDT)

[Session 3B] Gender, Sexism & Bridge
15:00 (BST UK) / 10:00 (EDT)
Panel 1 Women’s Bridge: Pros & Cons
Panel 2 Sexism within the Game: Solutions?

More Information

Day 2

29 June: The future hybrid of face-to-face and online play

[Session 2A] Covid Impacts on Bridge
11:30 (BST UK) / 06:30 (EDT)

[Session 2B] Digital Bridge & Cheating
19:30 (BST UK) / 14:30 (EDT)
Panel: Jan Kamras (EBL), Eric Laurant (WBF)
Boye Brogeland & Steve Weinstein

More Information

Day 4

1 July: How to transform the image of bridge?

[Session 4A] New Approaches to Recruitment
13:00 (BST UK) / 08:00 (EDT)
Panel 1 Teaching & Retaining Learners
Panel 2 How to get more Bridge into Schools

[Session 4B] Marketing Bridge
16:30 (BST UK) / 11:30 (EDT)

More Information

29 June: Conference Pairs & RealBridge Q&A
15:00 (BST UK) / 10:00 (EDT)

30 June: Bridge Taster for First-timers
18:30 (BST UK) / 13:30 (EDT)

More Information

Online programme

The conference has eight sessions, two per day, and each day has its own theme.

Participants can book any number of sessions from just one to all eight.

Day 1:  Bridge as a Mindsport

Day 2:  Digital Bridge: Opportunities and Challenges

Day 3:  Healthy Ageing, Intergenerationality and Gender

Day 4:  Education, Development and Marketing

Each session has its own webpage with all the details of speakers and panelists, and links to pre-recorded presentations.

Day 1 Session 1A
Day 1 Session 1B
Day 2 Session 2A
Day 2 Session 2B
Summary Page
Day 3 Session 3A
Day 3 Session 3B
Day 4 Session 4A
Day 4 Session 4B
Registration Form

There are two hands-on-line bridge sessions during the conference. There is a pairs tournament and a bridge taster for first-timers.

Both practical sessions will be held on RealBridge, the online bridge platform with integrated audio and video.

The bridge taster is the perfect introduction for anyone looking to try out the game.

All are welcome to participate in the playing sessions.

Attendance at other sessions is not a condition of registering for either of the practical sessions.

Day 2 Tournament
Day 3 Bridge Taster

Spread the Word

Please share the conference poster as widely as possible on your networks and social media. Thank you!

Poster

Acknowledgements

Thanks to all the participants, presenters and panelists, the steering group, chairs, facilitators and note-takers. Thanks also to the individuals and organisations who helped make this conference possible including: Scottish Bridge Union, Leisure Studies Association and American Contract Bridge League Educational Foundation for financial support; University of Stirling for administrative, technical and general support; RealBridge for advice on technology; the tournament directors for organising the tournament and taster session; BridgeCloud for publishing the tournament results; the volunteer teaching assistants at the taster session; Ying Piper for the English transcript for the Chinese video; Francesca Canali for photographs used on the conference web pages

Conference Organising Committee

Professor Samantha Punch (BAMSA Project Lead), Christina Ballinger (BAMSA Mind Sport Officer), Stephanie McConnell (Conference Administrator), Fred Phillips (IT), Tim Rees (Steering Group) and Stephen Peterkin (Steering Group)

BAMSA Team Members
Dr Miriam Snellgrove (BAMSA Research Fellow), Zoe Russell (Research Assistant), Jordan Maclean (Research Assistant), Dr Camilla Barnett (Research Assistant)

Donate

This is a free conference. If you enjoy the pre-recordings or attending the sessions please consider making a donation towards the future work of Bridge: A MindSport for All. All contributions small and large are hugely appreciated.